Posts

Showing posts from February, 2015

Review: When I Dream of You by Rosa Sophia

Image
When I Dream of You by Rosa Sophia Published: September 17, 2014 Format: via Xpresso Blog Tours Rating: 3/5 Synopsis Nina Archer battles memories of a trauma that occurred twelve years ago... With plans to move to North Carolina, she hopes to separate herself from her mother, whose excessive drinking is becoming unbearable. Then suddenly, fate steps in to help her heal in a way she would never think possible. While running a race in Juno Beach, Nina finds herself next to a man whom she's immediately attracted to. Wes Ladner, the same man she dreamt about one year ago... Wes is focused on his writing, and has no time for a woman. But the night before they met, he dreamt of Nina. Although they come from two very different worlds neither of them can deny the sparks that fly between them. As her time runs out to make a decision, Nina wonders if she's been given the chance to come to terms with her past, and accept a gift that some never receive - true love. My

Book Blitz: Lighter by Gia Riley

Image
Lighter by Gia Riley Published: February 16, 2015 Genres: New Adult, Romance Add to Goodreads Synopsis What do you do when you can't save the one you love? Sophie can’t survive without control. Growing up with an alcoholic father, she craves the discipline of gymnastics. Feeling lost on a brand new college campus, she lets loose for the first time in her life. But with freedom comes consequences. Is one night everything she hopes? Or will she become her own worst nightmare? Kipton's one year away from graduation. He's never thought beyond a one night stand until meeting his sister’s new roommate. Finally setting his sights on the girl he can't resist, he's more determined than ever when she won't give in to his persuasions. He's always gotten the girl, and he's not about to give up without a fight. Will Sophie be able to salvage her dreams and wage a war against her own vices? Can she finally let love in? Or will history

Cover Reveal: Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Image
Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid Expected Publication: July 7, 2015 Publisher: Washington Square Press Synopsis At the age of twenty-nine, Hannah Martin still has no idea what she wants to do with her life. She has lived in six different cities and held countless meaningless jobs since graduating college, but on the heels of a disastrous breakup, she has finally returned to her hometown of Los Angeles. To celebrate her first night back, her best friend, Gabby, takes Hannah out to a bar—where she meets up with her high school boyfriend, Ethan. It’s just past midnight when Gabby asks Hannah if she’s ready to go. Ethan quickly offers to give her a ride later if she wants to stay. Hannah hesitates. What happens if she leaves with Gabby? What happens if she leaves with Ethan? In concurrent storylines, Hannah lives out the effects of each decision. Quickly, these parallel universes develop into surprisingly different stories with far-reaching co

WoW [110]

Image
Waiting on Wednesday [WoW] is a weekly event hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.               After We Fall by Emma Kavanagh Expected Publication: June 2, 2015 Publisher: Sourcebooks Synopsis A moody, intense debut psychological thriller by a former police psychologist, this debut novel explores four lives that fall apart in the tense aftermath of a plane crash, perfect for fans of Tana French, S. J. Watson, and Alice LaPlante. Unraveling what holds these four together is a tense, taut tale about good people who make bad decisions that ultimately threaten to destroy them. Debut author Emma Kavanagh deftly weaves together the stories of those who lost someone or something of themselves in one tragic incident, exploring how swiftly everything we know can come crashing down. Why I Can’t Wait I love a good mystery/thriller every once and awhile and this one seems like the perfect summer read to escape

Review: When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill

Image
When Joss Met Matt by Ellie Cahill [Liz Czukas] Published: February 24, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine Books Format: Edelweiss Challenge: NetGalley/Edelweiss Rating: 4/5 Synopsis Dating can be fun, but it can leave a nasty taste in your mouth. For Joss, ever since her longtime boyfriend cheated on her, she doesn’t want her last memory of a guy to be that jerk. Enter her college friend, Matt. They come up with a theory: after a bad break-up, a person needs to cleanse the palate with a little sorbet sex. Lovers for a night, but always back to being friends in the morning. The two can handle it because they have a contract: rules they wrote, rules they follow and rules they can sometimes bend. The arrangement works: everyone needs a little sorbet now and again … until it starts to be the only thing you want. And then Joss breaks the one rule they never wrote down: don’t fall in love. My Thoughts When Joss Meets Matt it’s a college party and they strike up a conversation

Release Day Book Blitz: The Ghost of You by Amanda Burckhard

Image
The Ghost of You by  Amanda Burckhard   Release Date: February 24, 2015 Publisher: Swoon Romance Add to Goodreads Buy Links: Amazon Summary via Goodreads Emmy has everything she’s ever wanted: a hot boyfriend she adores, great friends, a promising future, and even a well-connected family. But one night rips it all away. A car accident shatters her world, claiming the lives of her twin brother and her best friend. In the wake of the accident, her friends drift away, her family falls apart, and her boyfriend cheats. The grief is more than she can handle, so she finds escape at the bottom of a bottle of painkillers. Taking the pills makes her brother alive again, if only in her head. Seeing and talking to her brother as if he were still alive is the only thing that keeps her going. Until Logan King moves to town. Logan sees past the mask of pristine popularity she wears in public and he’s the only one who can tell she hasn’t moved on. His uncanny ability to r

Blog Tour: New Uses for Old Boyfriends by Beth Kendrick

Image
New Uses for Old Boyfriends by Beth Kendrick Published: February 3, 2015 Publisher: NAL Format: via BookSparks Rating 4/5 Synopsis After growing up in privilege and marrying into money, Lila Alders has gotten used to the good life. But when her happily-ever-after implodes, Lila must return to Black Dog Bay, the tiny seaside town where she grew up. She’s desperate for a safe haven, but everything has changed over the past ten years. Her family’s fortune is gone—and her mother is in total denial. It’s up to Lila to take care of everything...but she can barely take care of herself. The former golden girl of Black Dog Bay struggles to reinvent herself by opening a vintage clothing boutique. But even as Lila finds new purpose for outdated dresses and tries to reunite with her ex, she realizes that sometimes it’s too late for old dreams. She’s lost everything she thought she needed but found something—someone—she desperately wants. A boy she hardly noticed has grown up int

Mini Review: Tangled Vines by Melissa Collins

Image
Tangled Vines by Melissa Collins Publication: September 21, 2014 Format: free Kindle read Rating: 3.5/5 Synopsis Fate has a funny way of twisting together the lives of people who are destined to be connected, but just don’t know it yet. One phone call.  That’s all it took to change Owen Carmichael’s life forever. One meeting.  That’s all it took to turn Elle Blackwell’s life around. Tangled, like the vines of the winery they both seek to control, will they realize they work better together than as enemies? My Thoughts The classic tale of two people whom dislike each other from the start, but you know are bond to fall in love by the end. Owen’s life has always been just him and his mother and his father was never around, until one day he gets a letter saying his father has passed away. Owen doesn’t want anything to go with him but decides to see what’s going on. He finds out his father was rich and left him half his business a vineyard. Elle was Owen’s father proté

Mini Review: The Promise by Tiffani Trawick

Image
The Promise by Tiffani Trawick Published: December 5, 2014 Format: free Kindle read Rating: 4/5 Synopsis At twenty-seven, Alicia Clark is a career woman on track to marry and have a family before turning thirty, but she still yearns for more out of life. She yearns for something that she felt long ago. After years of soul-searching, Jason, twenty-nine, is in the midst of having his world turned upside down, but he can’t continue life without the girl that stole his heart on the first day of high school. This story is one that tests the strength of past love. Is Alicia and Jason’s love for one another strong enough to overcome the past heartbreak and present obstacles that stand in their way? My Thoughts I really enjoyed this short read. Alicia is a girl who has always done what was expected of her so when she thinks she has all her life figured out and then runs into her ex-boyfriend her life flips outside down. She has a boyfriend but when she sees Jason agai

Book Blitz: Love Bites by Rachel K. Burke

Image
Love Bites by  Rachel K. Burke   Release Date: 12/29/14 Harper Impulse New Adult Add to Goodreads Summary from Goodreads What do you do when you fall in love with your best friend’s boyfriend? That is the question that twenty-six year-old Justine Sterling has been asking herself ever since the day she met David Whitman, her best friend Renee’s boyfriend. Justine is determined to ignore her growing feelings for the irresistibly charming David, until one night, when she finds herself in the bed of the one person she should stay away from. When Justine and David’s affair ends in heartbreak, Justine is forced to repair the damaged friendship with her best friend. In doing so, she learns that right and wrong decisions aren’t always black and white, and sometimes you have to follow your heart to see where it leads. Buy links Amazon │ Barnes & Noble │ Kobo Books │ iBooks │ Google Books Excerpt I didn’t sleep at all that night. Neither did David. The c