WoW [39]

Waiting on Wednesday [WoW] is a weekly event hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine that spotlights upcoming releases that we’re eagerly anticipating.

This week’s WoW feature is:

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Expected Publication: February 18, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen

Summary via Goodreads
Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.
Even when Olivia misses months of school.
Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

Why I Can’t Wait…
Simply put it sounds like an amazing story! I love book on friendships and this one sounds like the perfect one.

Feel free to share your WoW below.


  1. I agree. It does sound good. Fatal illnesses and tear-jerkers seem to be in these days...

  2. Sounds like a great story but oh-so-sad. I hope you enjoy this one!

  3. Oh gosh, I can tell this is going to make me an emotional wreck. I can't resist though, it definitely sounds like a must-read!

    My Waiting on Wednesday

  4. This sounds really interesting. Thanks for sharing.



  5. I haven't seen this one before but it sounds interesting. I hope you enjoy reading it when it comes out. Great pick and thanks for sharing.
    Come check out my WOW post.

  6. I requested this a few weeks back from Edwelweiss. I really hope I get approved!

    WoW Book

  7. This sounds like a great friendship story, and it sounds like it could possibly be a sad story too. I have this on my TBR list.

    My WOW: http://breathofbooks.blogspot.com/2013/07/waiting-on-wednesday-60-frozen.html

  8. I have this on my TBR, but it sounds soooo sad. I love books about friendships, too, but I always struggle with books about terminal or life-threatening illnesses. Great pick!
    Natflix&Books' WoW